Monthly Archives: May 2013

Great Reads!

While our official summer vacation has yet to start, Mrs. Lukkarinen and I have already started our summer reading. Since we must spend a great deal of time preparing for next year’s Helen Ruffin Reading Bowl, I decided to start with some of the Georgia Teen Peach Award nominee titles that caught my eye immediately.

So far, I have read The Fault in Our Stars by John Green, Every Day by David Levithan, The Girl of Fire and Thorns (and its sequel The Crown of Embers) by Rae Carson, and I am currently reading UnWholly by Neal Shusterman (I read Unwind, the first book in this series, a few weeks ago because I refuse to start a series with book two). I thought I would write about my favorite book so far, but I loved something about all of these very different books.

I will be honest and say that The Fault in Our Stars was probably the best read overall for me, but I enjoyed the unique story of Every Day and the way it made me think about the characters in a way that I usually don’t. The Fire and Thorns books are fast-paced and page-turners, especially if you enjoy fantasy with a good love story and a strong heroine. Unwind and UnWholly are dystopian books that should appeal to fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent. I found myself reflecting a lot as I read Unwind, and I usually just devour this type of book.

I think what I have enjoyed most about my summer reading so far is the variety in the books I have chosen. (I don’t know how many John Green books I could handle in one summer. Tissues, please!). Next on my reading list is Never Fall Down by Patricia McCormick and Grave Mercy by Robin LaFevers. Check back soon for updates on these titles.

20130529-205119.jpg

Advertisements
Categories: Book Recommendations, HRRB | Leave a comment

High School Summer Resources

Summer is just around the corner. Check out some of these GALILEO resources designed for high school students. See your media center staff for the summer GALILEO password.

Encyclopaedia Britannica High School (http://www.galileo.usg.edu/express?link=zehs)
Read biographies and learn about historical events, keep up with the news, read the Britannica Blog, and watch videos. Search for a topic and check The Web’s Best Sites section on the right of the article to find websites to explore. Find interesting science activities in Learning Materials.

Book Collection: Nonfiction (http://www.galileo.usg.edu/express?link=zbnf)
Read about celebrities, cars, sports, hobbies, and more.

Magazines A-Z (http://www.galileo.usg.edu/express?path=/magazines/&view=high-school)
GALILEO includes several magazines for teens, including American Cheerleader, BMX Plus, Dance Spirit, Discover, Rolling Stone, Sports Illustrated, Teen People, and Transworld Skateboarding.

NoveList (http://www.galileo.usg.edu/express?link=zknl)
Find more books like a favorite that’s already been read. Just search for a favorite book, click the title to see the book information, and then click Find Similar Books. Take the list on the next trip to the public library.

Categories: Resources | Leave a comment

May Media News

We have reached the end of the year! Check out our final newsletter to see our year in review.

The BI Media Buzz May 2013

The BI Media Buzz
May 2013

BI Media Buzz: May 2013

Categories: Newsletters | Leave a comment

Georgia Student Media Festival

Mrs. Lukkarinen and I spent Thursday afternoon and all day Friday in Atlanta for the Georgia Student Media Festival. The following projects from BI received superior scores of 96 or better and will advance to the International Student Media Festival this summer. We are extremely proud of all participants this year!

How a Bill Becomes a Law by Felix L.

Social Media for Young Adults by Raveenn S.

Ireland by Joshua B.

The Unforgettable Love by Jun Wei R.

The History of Graffiti by Mychal O.

Fun with Fractions by Achley C., Tiffany W., and Monique H.

Training 101: HRRB Edition by Jordan Graham

Two of these projects scored a perfect 100 and will be featured as exemplars for the Georgia Student Media Festival. Congrats to Jun Wei and Joshua!

These nine students will be recognized on Wednesday, May 15th at the Liberty County Performing Arts Center for their superior entries. Please come out and support these students.

Categories: Media Festival | Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.