Great Reads!

While our official summer vacation has yet to start, Mrs. Lukkarinen and I have already started our summer reading. Since we must spend a great deal of time preparing for next year’s Helen Ruffin Reading Bowl, I decided to start with some of the Georgia Teen Peach Award nominee titles that caught my eye immediately.

So far, I have read The Fault in Our Stars by John Green, Every Day by David Levithan, The Girl of Fire and Thorns (and its sequel The Crown of Embers) by Rae Carson, and I am currently reading UnWholly by Neal Shusterman (I read Unwind, the first book in this series, a few weeks ago because I refuse to start a series with book two). I thought I would write about my favorite book so far, but I loved something about all of these very different books.

I will be honest and say that The Fault in Our Stars was probably the best read overall for me, but I enjoyed the unique story of Every Day and the way it made me think about the characters in a way that I usually don’t. The Fire and Thorns books are fast-paced and page-turners, especially if you enjoy fantasy with a good love story and a strong heroine. Unwind and UnWholly are dystopian books that should appeal to fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent. I found myself reflecting a lot as I read Unwind, and I usually just devour this type of book.

I think what I have enjoyed most about my summer reading so far is the variety in the books I have chosen. (I don’t know how many John Green books I could handle in one summer. Tissues, please!). Next on my reading list is Never Fall Down by Patricia McCormick and Grave Mercy by Robin LaFevers. Check back soon for updates on these titles.

20130529-205119.jpg

Advertisements
Categories: Book Recommendations, HRRB | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Tell us what you think!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

%d bloggers like this: